1880 IS getting colder!

It appears to be a fact that 1880, and many years after that, are getting colder by the year. Not only that but temperature means are getting warmer by the year for the later figures.

Take 1996 for example. That has warmed by .06°C in the last 7 years! The anomaly has gone from 25 (.25°C) to 31 (.31°C). It is scary to think that the temperature back in 2005 can still keep climbing even in 2012. Is this something to do with parallel universes perhaps?

OK before I go further with this let me explain the source of the data and what I have done to get the following charts.

I was musing on the fact that I had contacted a well known climate blog about this, but got no response. I did not know how to explain what I was seeing but I thought they may be interested.

For the past year I have been collecting the GLOBAL Land-Ocean Temperature Index in 0.01 degrees Celsius (base period: 1951-1980) from this page

For over a year I have simply added the next single month figure to the bottom of my list. Last month however it just happened to catch my eye, as I was collecting the latest figure, that the 1880 mean had changed. Eh what? How can that be I thought.

After getting no response from the well known blog I resolved last night to see if I could find any historical data using the Internet Wayback machine. Nearly all data that I could get by putting in http://data.giss.nasa.gov/gistemp was not having permission to view. It seemed that the IWBM was actually accessing the NASA site and not it’s own archives. Undaunted I resorted to the mirror archive in Egypt. I struck lucky with 2005 November despite the fact that this is NOT available in the normal IWBM.

I managed to source a few more years from Bibalex and for clarity I have just shown one month figures from each of the years I have collected. It is very obvious that before the base it is steadily getting colder and after the base it is getting warmer, and by that I mean that past years are getting warmer and not the overall temperature.


(Click the Image for a larger/clearer version)

I am not a ‘scientist’ but I do deal with a lot of number crunching and I have to query how it is that the temperatures so far back can change over the years. I don’t know how long ago these were first collected of extrapolated but even if it was 2005 (which it was not) I would not have expected changes beyond 2007. I am reasonable in that I will accept that the past two years or so might change very slightly but to my non-scientific mind something is very odd about temperature anomalies changing so frequently and so obviously downward before the base and upward after it.

Here is a sample of the earliest decade.

Any explanation of this phenomenon would be appreciated.

If you would like a copy of my spreadsheet you can download a zipped version here. This is a Microsoft Excel XLSX spreadsheet but should be able to be read in Open Office as well or in older versions of Excel with the free reader.

The data I collected I have assembled into a PDF which you are welcome to download. This is the source of the data in the spreadsheet and the links to the original data should all work.

About PuterMan

A retired programmer.
This entry was posted in Climate change, Temperature Anomaly and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 1880 IS getting colder!

  1. Pingback: Cooling The Past At GISS | Real Science

  2. Russ says:

    Reblogged this on The Next Grand Minimum and commented:
    Evidence of scientific fraud! Why do real scientist let this happen?

    • Dena Wiltsie says:

      You get what you pay for. In our case, the government pays well for anything that indicates the climate is warming so they get much that backs that argument.
      If you support the cooling argument, you work on you own time unless your research happens to have ties to the field of climate research. Therefore the “experts”, the ones payed for by the government dominate the argument. I fear it night be the other way around if government was paying for the cooling argument.
      The best solution is for the government to take a neutral view and let science work it out without funding being the determining factor.

  3. jeremyp99 says:

    Steve Goddard at Real Science has been doing a huge amount of work on official data adjustment at GISS & elsewhere. The repeated pattern is to reduce temperatures way back and increase temperatures towards the present time – of course, to move trending upwards. Criminal to my mind.

    http://stevengoddard.wordpress.com

  4. tckev says:

    Thank-you for do this excellent work. I will try my best to ensure it gets a wide exposure.

  5. Pingback: GISS Temps revisited 6 days later | Grandfather David

  6. Pingback: GISSTEMPS or PISSTAKES? | Grandfather David

Leave a Reply

