Caledonia – TTBB & SSA


Having scoured the Internet for a TTBB version of Dougie MacLean’s ‘Caledonia’ without success, even the paid for ones are SATB, I decided to write my own arrangement for TTBB. 23rd Jan 2015: Added a karaoke style video for each part.

20 Feb 2015: Added an SSA version

I am not a trained musician so some of the harmonies may not be ‘conventional’ and not quite what might be expected but I just create music that sounds OK to me, whether technically right or wrong is not something I concern myself about. If there is something glaring that causes you a problem feel free to let me know. I am always ready to learn even at my age! I also appreciate reasonable criticism, good or bad.

Sample image (Clicking opens in a new tab/window)
Caledonia_TTBB_piano_01
I have created a PDF file that you can download for the full score and MID (MIDI) files you can import. There are also MP3 files so you can hear what it is like. These do NOT perhaps give the best impression as there are no vocals – just the melody of the part as Choir Ahs.

The score may appear to be heavy on the slurs but I am using them as they are intended, to indicate the measures (bars) that should be should be sung in one breath. The phrasing of this song can be a little tricky. Here I have tried to reproduce the original phrasing used by Dougie MacLean and that tends not to be the same as various other artists/artistes/groups that have done covers of his song. I have also used the lyrics of the original thus a popular version “I have kissed the girls/lads, and I’ve left them crying, stolen dreams…” is back to “Well I have tried and I’ve kept on trying, and I’ve stolen dreams….”

PDF scores download links

Caledonia (TTBB and piano)
Caledonia (SSA and piano)


All other downloads (MP3, Midi, Music XML) can be found here.

Karaoke style videos (TTBB)

One for each part and a combined video at the end

Tenor 1

Tenor 2

Baritone (Bass 1)

Bass 2

All parts (using Choir Ahs)

License: Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Ireland CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 IE [^]

CC-BY-NC-SA-icon-88x31You may copy the PDFs and other files of the arrangement freely for non commercial purposes provided attribution is made and the work is licensed under the same Creative Commons license. The original melody is presumed to be ©Dougie MacLean and/or his agents and it is not known at this time how that may affect the display of this arrangement. As this is a non-commercial arrangement for private use only it is assumed that this does not infringe any copyright. If there is an issue in this respect please let me know and I will take this down.

Enjoy!

About PuterMan

A retired programmer.
This entry was posted in Choirs, Male Voice Choirs, Music, Music Scores, Popular songs, SSA, TTBB and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caledonia – TTBB & SSA

  1. Pingback: Caledonia – SSA | Grandfather David

  2. Julia Wirth says:

    Hello Mr. Loring, If you don’t mind I have a few questions about the arrangement- I think it is beautiful and have some performance questions. If you could email me I would greatly appreciate it!

Feel free to leave a reply (ALL comments are moderated)

