Fickle Fate


What powerful force is this that grasps my heart
And binds it in a vicelike grip of iron.
What rapturous torment tears my very soul apart
And punctures every hope that I rely on.
 
I cannot see, for I am surely blind
And deaf to all but love’s eternal song.
I cannot feel for numbness strikes my mind
And leaves me weeping for the hearth where I belong.
 
Ah! Fickle fate you deal a cruel blow
And leave me gasping in the atmosphere of love.
So place me in an earthen rest below
I can no longer stand the pain above.

©1994 Grandfather David (David Loring)

About PuterMan

A retired programmer.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to leave a reply (ALL comments are moderated)

